FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Date: March 24, 2014

CONTACT: Taylor Flatt, National Coordinator

Sports Information Director, Alabama in Huntsville

Phone: (256) 824-6008 E-mail: ktf00002@uah.edu



Tarleton State's Kiara Wright Named National Player of the Year

HUNTSVILLE, Ala. – Kiara Wright of Tarleton State University has been voted as the 2014 Daktronics NCAA Division II Women's Basketball National Player of the Year, headlining this year's Daktronics Division II Women's Basketball All-American selections.

Wright guided her team to the championship game of the Lone Star Conference tournament en route to an appearance in the second round of the NCAA tournament after averaging a double-double on the season with 19.6 points per game and 12.3 rebounds per contest.

Wright is joined on the first team by Lauren Battista who has helped propel her Bentley squad to an undefeated record and an appearance at the Division II Elite Eight, while other members of the top team include Megan Fogt of Hillsdale College, Colorado Mesa's Sharaya Selsor, and Shareta Brown of Wayne State.

This year's second team features Jada Blackwell of Cal Poly Pomona, Jeanette Anderson of Caldwell College, Minot State's Carly Boag, Mimi Hill from North Georgia, and West Virginia State's Lexy Carson. Blackwell has led her Cal Poly Pomona team to an appearance at this week's Elite Eight.

The third team this season is comprised of Central Missouri's Keuna Flax, Lenior-Rhyne's Jazmine Charles, Krystal Forthan of Academy of Art, Harding's Kristen Celsor, and Bobbi Knudsen of Montana State Billings.

The All-America teams are sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA).

The First Team

Kiara Wright of Tarleton State is the National Player of the Year after also being named the South Central Region Player of the Year and the Lone Star Conference Player of the Year. She is her school's all-time leader in scoring in its NCAA era, and she became the first player in Tarleton State's NCAA history to record 1,000 career points and 1,000 career rebounds. Wright averaged 19.6 points per contest and 12.3 rebounds per game while shooting 61.3 percent from the floor, and she currently ranks second in the country in double-doubles with 22 while also ranking third in field goal percentage and rebounds per game.

Megan Fogt of Hillsdale earns a position on the first team after being named the Midwest Region Player of the Year and the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year. She finished the season as the GLIAC leader in rebounds, field goals made and blocks while ranking second in points per game and field goal percentage while featuring eight 20-rebound contests and four games in which she scored at least 20 points while grabbing at least 20 rebounds.

Sharaya Selsor of Colorado Mesa is honored as a first-team selection after being named the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Player of the Year and guiding her team to the South Central Regional championship game after posting a 25-1 record in the regular season. Finishing the year with a scoring average of 23.4 points per

contest, Selsor currently ranks fourth in the country in scoring as she scored 30 or more points in seven games this season en route to scoring 750 points on the season.

Lauren Battista of Bentley lands on the first team after being named the Northeast 10 Conference Player of the Year, leading her team to a perfect record and earning an appearance in the Elite Eight. Battista is Bentley's all-time leader in points, field goals and games started, and the team is 121-11 during her four seasons. A 46.8 percent shooter from beyond the arc, she is averaging 17.2 points per game to go along with 5.1 rebounds per contest and 3.1 assists per game.

Shareta Brown of Wayne State earns a position on the first team after earning All-GLIAC and All-Midwest Region status while guiding her team to the regular season conference title and an appearance in the Midwest Regional championship game. She finished the season averaging 20.2 points per contest on the strength of a nation-leading 62.9 percent shooting mark, and Brown featured 18 games with at least 10 rebounds while making at least six field goals in all but four contests.

First Team					
Name	School	Pos.	Ht.	Class	Hometown
Kiara Wright	Tarleton State	Center	6-1	Senior	Pittsburg, Texas
Megan Fogt	Hillsdale	Forward	6-0	Junior	Anna, Ohio
Sharaya Selsor	Colorado Mesa	Guard	5-9	Senior	Glenwood Springs, Colo.
Lauren Battista	Bentley	Forward	6-0	Senior	North Easton, Mass.
Shareta Brown	Wayne State	Center	6-1	Junior	Pontiac, Mich.
Second Team					
Jada Blackwell	Cal Poly Pomona	Center	6-1	Junior	Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Jeanette Anderson	Caldwell	Forward	6-1	Senior	Lynn, Mass.
Carly Boag	Minot State	Forward	6-2	Senior	Tamworth, Australia
Mimi Hill	North Georgia	Forward	6-3	Junior	Gainesville, Ga.
Lexy Carson	West Virginia State	Guard	5-8	Senior	Decatur, Ill.
Third Team					
Keuna Flax	Central Missouri	Forward	5-11	Junior	Haltom City, Texas
Jazmine Charles	Lenoir-Rhyne	Guard	5-9	Junior	Lexington, N.C.
Krystal Forthan	Academy of Art	Forward	6-4	Sophomore	Portland, Ore.
Kristen Celsor	Harding	Forward	6-0	Senior	Searcy, Ark.
Bobbi Knudsen	Montana State Billings	Guard	5-8	Senior	Malta, Mont.